The Upper Class is associated with income, wealth, power, and prestige. Who are those primarily in the upper class? CEOs, government officials, celebrities, very successful professionals, and those born into it belong to the upper class. People of the upper class often have a better influence on political decisions because they can invest in ways to campaign for their party.

I’ve always found it interesting that the president and past government officials have always wanted to take away more money from the middle class(working classs) when it comes to pay cuts. Why should we risk the middle class falling down into poverty by cutting their pay? I  think that pay cuts should come from the government officials especially since presidents are paid for life a very high salary. This doesn’t seem right for those who claim to be for the poor but do not give their money to the poor. Also, I think that some jobs have different priorities when it comes to salary. for instance, professional athletes get paid a lot of money when teachers who are helping educate the future generations aren’t getting paid nearly enough. I could be wrong but this seems a bit reversed to me. Sadly, our society appreciates athletes or celebrities more than teachers,nurses,and other lower paid jobs that should have a higher pay.

 

Who determines who is part of the upper class? I would place doctors, pharmacists, lawyers, etc, in the upper class if I was able to choose because I believe that these professions deserve to be paid well enough to be in the upper class. I do not think that celebrities should be a part of this. They are not saving anybody’s life or changing the world. They are just a form of entertainment.

 

 

You May Ask Yourself by Dalton Conley

